Disney Pooh’s Happy bookmark

Project: Disney Pooh’s Happy bookmark
Started: 01.03.09
Finished:

Disney kit designed by Debbie Minton for Designer Stitches.

This one was more challenging than I thought it would be – there were quite a few fractional, stitches (1/4 and 3/4) as well as French knots, which I’ve never done before. Overall, though, I’m pleased with the result. I tried to keep the back very neat as there’s no felt backing for this one, and managed very well till it came to the backstitch which rather ruined the neatness on the back a little, so I used some yellow sticky-backed felt to finish it off and it looks much better now.

This will be part of my niece’s fourth birthday present, so I hope she’ll like it!

4 Comments

Filed under Bookmarks

4 responses to “Disney Pooh’s Happy bookmark

  1. inver

    I’m sure your neice will love it Kell. Where did you get the sticky backed felt! that must make things a lot easier for backing!

  2. I got it from John Lewis – I actually meant to get regular felt, but it turned out the sticky-backed stuff will come in handy after all. I’ll have to go back for some ordinary felt so I can finish another of my current works in progress though. 😉

  3. Katie

    I love it! I wouldn’t be able to do it – French knots are impossible!!

  4. I find French knots a right faff myself – I can very rarely get them to work. I was lucky first time with the two that were needed for Pooh’s eyes, though (thank goodness!). I usually use seed beads instead of French knots if I can get away with it at all – LOL!

Leave a comment