15-Sided Biscornu Stitch-Along

Front, side and reverse views of finished biscornu pomander

Project: 15-sided biscornu pomander
Started: 26.03.09
Finished: 13.04.09

This was something completely new to me. Although I recently stitched my first regular biscornu, this was my first attempt at a 15-sided one and I was a little worried at how complicated it might be to put together – I needn’t have worried! The designs came from a stitch-along at Stitch Creations and a few of us at The Book Club Forum thought it might be fun to stitch-along ourselves. The most fiddly bit was whip-stitching the last edge, but it was worth it because by that point the whole thing was coming together and I could see how pretty it would look when finished.

I stitched this biscornu on white 18-count aida, using two variegated Trebla flosses – 13 (pink, for the edging boxes) and 41 (purple, for the patterns). Lilac seed beads are stitched along the edges of the boxes on the front of the biscornu; clear seed beads edge the boxes on the reverse; and I alternated between lilac and clear seed beads on the connecting panels. I added lavender to the stuffing to make a pomander and used a wide piece of white satin ribbon to make the hanger, then added two decorative silver buttons.

This will be part of my Step-Mum’s Christmas gift.

6 Comments

Filed under Biscornu, Stitch-Alongs, Unusual Gifts

6 responses to “15-Sided Biscornu Stitch-Along

  1. Wow, this turned out beautiful!! I did this one too and I’ve seen several of them, your’s is one of the best in my book!! Love the bead work. Did you send a photo to Anita? I’m sure she’d love to see it.

  2. Thank you, Leigh. I was just thinking this afternoon that I should do that and you have confirmed it for me – I will indeed send a picture of it to her. I really enjoyed stitching it and will quite possibly do it again with different colours and beading.

  3. That’s worked out beautifully! I love the colours you’ve used and allthe beads, and the ribbon too! It must smell wonderful with the lavender inside.

  4. Thank you. 🙂 Yes, it does smell lovely – it’s currently in my gift store (in my wardrobe), so it smells wonderful in there!

  5. Pingback: Freebie Friday! « In Stitches

  6. Pingback: Freebie Friday! « In Stitches

Leave a comment